Chapters poster

Download your Mental Health Rights Manual poster here

print-text Print this section

Prohibited treatments

Prohibited treatments refer to treatments that are not allowed for any patient in NSW under the Mental Health Act 2007 (NSW). Performing prohibited treatments on a patient is against the law and can lead to a criminal prosecution. Prohibited treatments are deep sleep therapy, insulin coma therapy, and psychosurgery.